Daniel Kihara

Daniel Kihara first ran Mt. Washington in 1996, when he took nearly a minute off Derek Froude’s course record, making the ascent in 58:21. Training both in his native Kenya and in the hills of Pennsylvania, Kihara returned to Mt. Washington in 1999 to win a second time, following with his third and fourth victories in 2000 and 2001. His only loss was a sixth place finish in the weather-shortened race in 2002. His slowest time for the full course was just six seconds over an hour (1:00:06), and he is still the only runner in the history of the race with three sub-one hour finishes.

Mike Gallagher

Mike Gallagher remains best known as one of America’s great Nordic skiers – he skied in three Olympics – but he was also a formidable runner, as he proved by becoming the first person to win the Mt. Washington Road Race four times. Moreover, he won those in consecutive years (1968-1971); the only person with more consecutive wins (five) is Bob Hodge. Gallagher ran a personal best of 1:06:13 here in 1968, and in his final win, in 1971, he took a 51-second victory over Boston Marathon champion and Olympic Trials marathoner Amby Burfoot. Since retiring from racing, Mike Gallagher has kept busy with coaching and with inspiring young skiers. He lives in Vermont.

Derek Froude

From New Zealand, now residing in Florida.

Derek ran the marathon in the 1984 Olympic Games, trained in Colorado and became increasingly interested in mountain racing. He came to the Mt. Washington Road Race in 1990 with a plan to break the daunting one-hour barrier here, and, after studying the course carefully, succeeded in clocking a time of 59 minutes 17 seconds.

“I thought I could do it,” he said upon finishing. Froude returned to win again in 1991, then made one more appearance here in 1992, this time finishing second behind another Colorado-trained newcomer (Matt Carpenter).